Vegan Jamaican Jerk Glazed Baby Carrots

I just put my own spin on an Emeril Lagasse recipe for Glazed Baby Carrots and OH MY GOSH is it good!! Now a spin for me means to make it vegan, organic and Jamaican lol. I’ve never had glazed carrots quite like this. They’re spectacular! I’m calling them “Jamaican Jerk GBC’s!” I’m now realizing I hyped you all the way up if you don’t have REAL Jamaican jerk seasoning. When I say real I mean authentic – mine came from a farm in Jamaica and the spice level is p-e-r-f-e-c-t. I’m sure using any jerk seasoning will get similar results. THAT SAID – here are the measurements and ingredients I used to make this incredibly delectable dish. There are pics of the ingredients below if you’re planning to recreate, and as I sit here licking the bowl I highly recommend you do!

12 oz Cal-Organic’s Certified Organic Rainbow Cut and Peeled baby carrots

4 tablespoons Earth Balance Original

¼ cup water

¼ cup Coombs Family Farms Organic Maple Syrup

¼ cup orange juice, meaning juice & pulp squeezed from oranges

½ teaspoon of McCormick Cinnamon Sugar (work with me here, I have a sweet tooth!)

¼ teaspoon Sizzla Jerk Seasoning

¼ tablespoon sea salt

Directions

  • Place all the ingredients in a medium, heavy saucepan.
  • Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, until the carrots are tender and the sauce becomes a shiny glaze, about 15 minutes.
  • Using an oven mitt or pot holder, remove from the heat and serve.

Using all organic or vegan products really makes the taste light & fresh. The dash of Jamaican jerk sets the perfect balance of sweet and savory. I’ve just had an “I closed my eyes and I… exhaled” moment (C’mon Whitney Houston Waiting to Exhale realness!!!). I’ll end this blog now and figure out how not to devour the whole pot before Josh gets home.

 

Leave a Reply

